Prev1 of 5Next
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

People forget, we are just nine days away from the first NHL expansion since 2000. Below are the rules Vegas must follow while creating their roster.

  • Teams can protect seven forwards, three defensemen and one goalie, or any nine players they wish.
  • Players with no movement clauses have to be protected unless they agree to waive it.
  • Any player with two or fewer years of NHL/AHL experience can’t be taken.
  • All teams must expose at least one defenseman and two forwards who are both under contract in 2017-18 and played either 40+ NHL games in 2016-17 or 70+ games in the last two NHL seasons, and must exposes at least one goaltender who is under contract for 2017-18, or who is a restricted free agent this summer.

Simple enough, right? Cool. Let’s dive in.




Jakob Silfverberg, Winger, Anaheim Ducks.

Matt Moulson, Winger, Buffalo Sabres.

Lee Stempniak, Winger, Carolina Hurricanes.

Carl Soderberg, Center, Colorado Avalanche.

Valeri Nichushkin, Winger, Dallas Stars* (playing for HC CSKA Moscow of KHL).

Riley Sheahan, Center, Detroit Red Wings.

Benoit Pouliot, Winger, Edmonton Oilers.

Viktor Arvidsson, Winger, Nashville Predators.

Beau Bennett, Winger, New Jersey Devils.

Brock Nelson, Center, New York Islanders.

Scott Laughton, Center, Philadelphia Flyers.

Mikkel Boedker, Winger, San Jose Sharks.

Nail Yakupov, Winger, St. Louis Blues.

Alex Killorn, Center, Tampa Bay Lightning.

Kerby Rychel, Winger, Toronto Maple Leafs.

Tom Wilson, Winger, Washington Capitals.

Marko Dano, Center, Winnipeg Jets.



Luke Schenn, Arizona Coyotes.

Michael Stone, Calgary Flames.

Trevor Van Riemsdyk, Chicago Blackhawks.

Ryan Murray, Columbus Blue Jackets.

Jason Demers, Florida Panthers.

Brayden McNabb, LA Kings.

Jonas Brodin, Minnesota Wild.

Nathan Beaulieu, Montreal Canadiens.

Dan Girardi, New York Rangers. (Trade)

Marc Methot, Ottawa Senators.


Malcolm Subban, Boston Bruins.

Marc-Andre Fleury, Pittsburgh Penguins.

Jacob Markstrom, Vancouver Canucks.


Projected Depth Chart:



1st Line: Jakub Silvferberg, Brock Nelson (A), Mikkel Boedker.

Brayden McNabb and Jonas Brodin.

Prev1 of 5Next
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse